

#### **DECISION TAKEN BY THE MONITORING OFFICER**

**Decision title:** Appointments to Outside Bodies and Partnership Bodies

Officer making the decision: David Clark, Monitoring Officer

Contact Details: <u>David.Clark@somerset.gov.uk</u>

#### **Author Contact Details:**

Claire Dicken, Democratic Services Claire.Dicken@somerset.gov.uk

Date of Decision: 22 January 2024

#### **Details of the decision:**

The Monitoring Officer has delegated authority, in consultation with the political group leaders to make in-year changes to internal, partnership and Outside Bodies appointments in accordance with the wishes of the relevant political group leader.

In accordance with this, the Monitoring Officer has made the following revisions to Somerset Council's Outside Bodies and Partnerships:

## Axe and Brue Internal Drainage Board

Remove Councillor Sarah Dyke as the Council's representative on this Board. This will leave a vacancy on the Board.

## **Watchet Harbour Advisory Committee**

To appoint Councillor Hugh Davies as a Member of the Watchet Harbour Advisory Committee. This appointment replaces Councillor Rosemary Woods.

#### **Internal Bodies**

## **Member Development Panel**

To ratify the appointment of Councillor Dave Mansell to the Panel. This appointment replaces Councillor Martin Dimery.

Councillor Mansell will sit alongside Councillors Emily Pearlstone, Dixie Darch, Dawn Denton, Leigh Redman and Hugh Davies

# **Members Equality Steering Group**

Too ratify the appointment of Councillor Shane Collins. This appointment replaces Martin Dimery.

Councillor Collins will serve alongside Councillors Lucy Trimnell, Mike Caswell, John Hunt, Leigh Redman, Hilary Bruce, Adam Dance, Dawn Johnson, and one vacancy for an independent member and one vacancy for a green member.

# Changes to Committee Membership Details of the decision:

Delegated authority also sits with the Monitoring Officer, in consultation with the leaders of the political groups to update Committee Membership. This authority was given at the meetings of full Council on 24 May 2023 and 20 December 2023.

In accordance with this, the Monitoring Officer has made the following changes to Committee Membership:

#### **Harbour Management Advisory Committee**

To appoint the following Councillors to the Harbour Management Advisory Committee; Andy Sully, Marcus Kravis, Leigh Redman, Andy Hadley and Rosemary Woods. Plus, a vacancy for a Liberal Democrat Member.

## **Planning Committee East**

To remove Councillor Heather Shearer as a Substitute Member of the Planning Committee East.

To appoint Councillor Tessa Munt as a Substitute Member of the Planning Committee East.

# **Planning Committee South**

To removed Councillor Richard Wilkins as a Substitute Member of the Planning Committee South.

And to appoint Councillor Kevin Messenger as a Substitute Member of the Planning Committee South.

## **Reasons for proposed decision:**

To update the Outside Body arrangement with necessary changes as identified for Somerset Council. And also, to update the Membership of Committees with necessary changes as identified for Somerset Council.

# Alternative options considered and rejected:

Group Leaders have been consulted on the proposals set out in this report and consensus reached to ensure the bodies listed are fully functional and compliant with the bodies' listed, terms of reference.

Not filling the vacancies was rejected as an alternative approach.

Implications considered:		
None.		

# **Background papers:**

Report of the Monitoring Officer, Full Council AGM, 24 May 2023 and a Report of the Leader and Executive on 20 December 2023 relating to the establishment of the Harbour Management Advisory Committee.

Outside Body Arrangement List held by the Council on SharePoint and ModGov. Committee Membership records held on ModGov at the Council

The following consultation has been completed:	Councillor	Date
Local County Councillors consulted where the decision directly affects their Division	N/A	N/A
Relevant Executive Member(s) consulted	Bill Revans as Leader of the Council and Liz Leyshon as Deputy Leader	
Opposition Spokesperson(s) consulted/informed	David Fothergill, Dave Mansell, Leigh Redman and John Hunt as Leaders of the Opposition Parties	

# **Decision Maker**

I am aware of the details of this decision, have considered the reasons, options, representations and consultation responses (where applicable) and give my approval / agreement to its implementation.

# Signed:

Name: David Clark

Post: Monitoring Officer

**Date:** 22 January 2024